The Discover Tab
The Discover Tab
Dispatch No. 03
0:00
-37:12

Dispatch No. 03

Sunscribe on iTunes

RSS Feed

Welcome to The Discover Tab Dispatch, an audio-experiment from yours truly. Every episode is a musical dispatch from myself to you, featuring dusty vintage cuts that sit alongside new discoveries and so much more. 

After a week off - thanks kidney stones! - I’m back with a slightly shorter episode for y’all, but an episode nonetheless. As I mention today, this is a bit of an all-over-the-place collection, but it’s my hope there’s something for everyone in here. Sometimes I wonder if I should tighten the show up with “themes” or keep it loose and freeform when it comes to what I select. It’s pretty seat-of-pants already, so I tend to embrace that kind of thing.

As I state every week, I would love love love to hear your thoughts, opinions and recommendations, so please reach out either in the comments section below or through Twitter.

Show Notes:

  • I got kicked off Spotify!

    • Not exactly the surprise of the century, but since this little project includes full songs I was removed from their podcast database. Probably because I led last week’s dispatch with an INXS joint, haha. Oh well! You can still find me on a number of platforms, so search in your Pocket Casts, your Google Podcasts, et al.

  • Today’s dispatch features a couple songs from Bruton Music and some mentions of library music.

    • If you’re not aware, library music is created with the specific intent to be owned by a company and lent to creatives for many reasons - they need music for television or film, background audio for radio, etc.

    • Often times the musicians creating these works could be imitating a popular style of music, or reaching out into the unknown with electronic mood-setting pieces. A lot of this stuff ultimately ended up as sample-fodder for crate-digging producers, but much of it is just delightful to listen to any time.

    • There’s a good primer about the world of library music by Pitchfork, and you can find some great compilation videos (organized by label) on the 11db11 YouTube channel.

    • I’ve also got a “KPM 1000 & Other Library Favourites” playlist too, so check that out.

  • Later in the episode I mention Don Giovanni Records’ response to the recently released Pitchfork essay “What It’s Like to Be Black in Indie Music.” Definitely take some time to read both the article, and in the Don Giovanni Records twitter thread.

Today’s Track List:

  1. Geoff Bastow - Communique

  2. Flue - Fancy Free

  3. Koshi Miharu - Scandal Night

  4. New Bloods - Oh, Deadly Nightshade!

  5. Square Up - Expect Resistance

  6. James Harpham - Aquarium

  7. James Asher - Umbrellas

  8. 700 Bliss - Ring The Alarm

  9. Circus Trees - Wicked


That’s it, that’s all. Be excellent to one other.

0 Comments
The Discover Tab
The Discover Tab
An audio-musical experiment from The Discover Tab; vintage music, new discoveries, and much more.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Dan Gorman
Recent Episodes
  Dan Gorman
  Dan Gorman
  Dan Gorman
  Dan Gorman
  Dan Gorman
  Dan Gorman
  Dan Gorman